Information about the IELTS exam

How many modules are there in the IELTS exam?

There are two kinds or ‘modules’ of the IELTS examination;

(a)    Academic Module – This module is suitable for students wishing to complete academic study at degree level in an English-speaking country.

(b)   General Training Module – This module is more suited to people wishing to migrate to an English-speaking country like Australia.  It is also suitable for students who wish to study courses taught through to diploma level only.

What does the IELTS examination consist of?

Both the Academic & General Training Modules consist of a four main tasks: a Reading, Writing, speaking & listening task.  The IELTS exam takes 2 hours and 45 minutes to complete, and consists of four Sub-tests in the skills of listening, reading, writing and speaking.

Students sitting the Academic & the General Training Modules take the same Listening and Speaking tests, but different Reading and Writing tests. Listening, Reading and Writing must be completed in one day.


Retrieved from on 12/08/2014